The Blue Marble

NEWS Implementation Plan

January 18, 2007
* It is recognized that this document will be modified to reflect the new NASA organizational structure.
Click here to view(3.7 MB - PDF document - opens in a new window)

NEWS Implementation Plan Executive Summary (January 2007)

Download the IP Executive Summary

NEWS '05 Discovery and Product projects

Project #PICoIsPOCE-mailTitle
D020Jay Famiglietti, UC Irvine Ph: 949 824-9434Don Chambers UT Austin, Steve Nerem CU Boulder, Isabella Velicogna JPLEni Njoku Ph: 818 354-3693 eni.g.njoku@jpl.nasa.gov
jfamigli@uci.edu
chambers@csr.utexas.edu
isabella@colorado.edu
Nerem@colorado.edu
A Study of the First Global Measurements of the Water Cycle
D044John Roads, UCSD Ph: 858 534-2099N/ABill Rossow Ph:212-650-5389 wbrossow@ccny.cuny.edu
jroads@ucsd.edu
Global Water and Energy Budgets
D114William Olson,GSFC Ph: 301 614-6314Mircea Grecu,Chung-Lin Shie, GEST/UMBC and GSFCEni Njoku Ph: 818 354-3693 eni.g.njoku@jpl.nasa.gov
olson@agnes.gsfc.nasa.gov
grecu@agnes.gsfc.nasa.gov
shie@agnes.gsfc.nasa.gov
Calibration and Analysis of Global Latent Heating Estimates Using Passive and Active Microwave Sensor Data
D118Ruby Leung, BPNL Ph: 509 372-6182Daniel Rosenfeld Hebrew Univ. of Jerusalem, Steven J. Ghan Pacific Northwest National LaboratoryBill Lapenta Ph: 256-961-7834 bill.lapenta@nasa.gov
Ruby.Leung@pnl.gov
daniel@vms.huji.ac.il
steve.ghan@pnl.gov
Aerosol Effects on Cold Season Orographic Precipitation and Water Resources in the Western US
D209Allen Betts, Atmopsheric Research Ph: 802 483-2087Mike Bosilovich GSFCBill Lapenta Ph: 256-961-7834 bill.lapenta@nasa.gov
Akbetts@aol.com
Michael.Bosilovich@nasa.gov
Understanding the Coupling of Surface, Boundary Layer, Cloud and Radiative Processes in the Global Water and Energy Cycle
D423Siegfried Schubert, GSFC Ph: 301 614-6145Max Suarez, Randal Koster, Philip Pegion NASA/GSFC/ GMAO, Dave Gutzler UNM, Dennis Lettenmaier UW, Aris Georgakakos Georgia Tech Paul Houser Ph: 301 931-7280 phouser@gmu.edu
siegfried.d.schubert@nasa.gov
Max.J.Suarez@nasa.gov
pegion@janus.gsfc.nasa.gov
gutzler@unm.edu
dennisl@u.washington.edu
Aris.Georgakakos@gwri.org
On the Causes and Predictability of Multi-Year North American Droughts with Applications to Drought Monitoring and Water Management
D471Scott Denning, CSU Ph: 970 491-6936Lixin Lu, Reto Stöckli Colorado State University Adam Schlosser Ph: 617 253-3983 casch@MIT.EDU
denning@atmos.colostate.edu
lixin@atmos.colostate.edu
stockli@atmos.colostate.edu
A Global Vegetation Modeling System for NEWS
P053Frank Wentz, RSS Ph: 707 545-2904Kyle Hilburn, Remote Sensing SystemsBing Lin Ph: 757 864-9823 bing.lin@nasa.gov
frank.wentz@remss.com
hilburn@remss.com
A Hydrologically-Consistent Multi-Satellite Climatology of Water Vapor Transport, Evaporation and Precipitation Over the Oceans
P133Tim Liu, JPL Ph: 818 354-2394Wenqing Tang, Xiaosu Xie (JPL) Bing Lin Ph: 757 864-9823 bing.lin@nasa.gov
liu@pacific.jpl.nasa.gov
wqt@pacific.jpl.nasa.gov
Xiaosu.Xie@jpl.nasa.gov
Oceanic Influence on Global Hydrological Cycle
P134Brian Soden, U. Miami Ph: 305 421-4916Viju John, Angie Pendergrass; University of Miami Collaborators: Held, Ramaswamy, NOAA/GFDL Adam Schlosser Ph: 617 253-3983 casch@MIT.EDU
b.soden@miami.edu
a.pendergrass@umiami.edu
vojohn@rsmas.miami.edu
The Sensitivity of the Global Water and Energy Cycles: An Integrated Assessment of Models and Observations
P143Michael Bosilovich, GSFC Ph: 301 614-6147Pete Robertson NASA MSFC, Robert Adler NASA GSFC Bill Lapenta Ph: 256-961-7834 bill.lapenta@nasa.gov
Michael.Bosilovich@nasa.gov
Pete.Robertson@msfc.nasa.gov
Robert.F.Adler@nasa.gov
Evaluation of NASA’s Global Water Cycle Data: Interannual Variability, Interdecadal Changes and Trends
P147Tristan L’Ecuyer, CSU Ph: 970 491-8370Graeme Stephens, Zhengzhao Luo; Colorado State University Bill Rossow Ph:212-650-5389 wbrossow@ccny.cuny.edu
tristan@atmos.colostate.edu
stephens@atmos.colostate.edu
luo@atmos.colostate.edu
New Satellite Energy Balance and Water Cycle Products for the Study of Interactions between Atmospheric Hydrology and the Earth’s Radiation Budget
P152Bob Adler, GSFC Ph: 301 614-6290George Huffman GSFC/SSAI, Guojun Gu GSFC/GEST, Scott Curtis East Carolina U.Adam Schlosser Ph: 617 253-3983 casch@MIT.EDU
Robert.F.Adler@nasa.gov
huffman@agnes.gsfc.nasa.gov
ggu@agnes.gsfc.nasa.gov
curtisw@mail.ecu.edu
Global Precipitation Analysis for Climate and Weather Studies
P170Eric Fetzer, JPL Ph: 818 354-0649Bjorn H. Lambrigtsen, Fredrick W. Irion, William G. Read , Duane E. Waliser, JPL Bing Lin Ph: 757 864-9823 bing.lin@nasa.gov
Eric.J.Fetzer@jpl.nasa.gov
bjorn.lambrigtsen@jpl.nasa.gov
William.F.Irion@jpl.nasa.gov
bill@mls.jpl.nasa.gov
duane.waliser@jpl.nasa.gov
A Merged Atmospheric Water Data Set from the A-Train
P179Bruce Wielicki, Langley Ph: 757 864-5683David Winker, Thomas Charlock, Paul Stackhouse, Patrick Minnis, Kuan-man Xu, NASA LaRC, Graeme Stephens, Colorado State University, William Collins, NCAR, Norman Loeb, Hampton UniversityBob Schiffer Ph: 410 455-8810 schiffer@umbc.edu
b.a.wielicki@larc.nasa.gov
David.M.Winker@nasa.gov
Thomas.P.Charlock@nasa.gov
Paul.W.Stackhouse@nasa.gov
P.Minnis@nasa.gov
KUAN-MAN.XU@nasa.gov
stephens@atmos.colostate.edu
wcollins@ucar.edu
n.g.loeb@larc.nasa.gov
An A-Train Integrated Aerosol, Cloud, and Radiation Data Product
P223Judith Curry,Georgia Tech Ph: 404 894-3948Peter Webster, Emanuele DiLorenzo, Georgia Tech, Carol Ann Clayson, Florida State, Anastasia Romanou, Columbia Univ. Bill Rossow Ph: 212-650-5389 wbrossow@ccny.cuny.edu
curryja@eas.gatech.edu
pjw@eas.gatech.edu
edl@eas.gatech.edu
clayson@met.fsu.edu
ar2235@columbia.edu
Global Analysis of Ocean Surface Fluxes of Heat and Freshwater
P226Randy Koster, GSFC Ph: 301 614-5781Max Suarez GMAO, NASA/GSFC Rolf Reichle, Julio Bacmeister UMBC/GEST Adam Schlosser, Ph: 617 253-3983 casch@MIT.EDU
Randal.D.Koster@nasa.gov
Max.J.Suarez@nasa.gov
reichle@gmao.gsfc.nasa.gov
bacmj@janus.gsfc.nasa.gov
Effects of Land-Atmosphere Coupling Strength and Soil Moisture Initialization Uncertainty on Subseasonal Rainfall and Temperature Prediction
P433Soroosh Sorooshian, UC Irvine Ph: 949 824-8821Kuolin Hsu Bisher Imam Xiaogang Gao Yang Hong UC Irvine, Phillip Arkin ESSIC, Eyal Amitai NASA/GSFCAdam Schlosser Ph: 617 253-3983 casch@MIT.EDU
soroosh@uci.edu
parkin@essic.umd.edu
eyal@radar.gsfc.nasa.gov
kuolinh@uci.edu
bimam@uci.edu
gaox@uci.edu
yanghong@uci.edu
The Challenges of Utilizing Satellite Precipitation Data for Hydrologic Applications
P435Christa Peters-Lidard, GSFC Ph: 301-614-5811Mike Bosilovich, Matt Rodell, William Lau NASA/GSFC, Joe Santanello, Jiun-Dar Chern UMBC/GEST Paul Houser Ph: 301 931-7280 houser@iges.orgChrista.D.Peters-Lidard@nasa.gov
Michael.Bosilovich@nasa.gov
Matthew.Rodell@nasa.gov
William.K.Lau@nasa.gov
sntnello@hsb.gsfc.nasa.gov
jchern@agnes.gsfc.nasa.gov
Wei-Kuo.Tao-1@nasa.gov
NASA Model and Observation Products for the Study of Land Atmosphere Coupling and its Impact on Water and Energy Cycles
P448Matt Rodell, GSFC Ph: 301 286-9143Christa Peters-Lidard NASA/GSFC, Rolf Reichle, Sujay Kumar, Jesse Meng UMBC/GEST, Richard Kelly UMBC/GESTPaul Houser Ph: 301 931-7280 houser@iges.org
Matthew.Rodell@nasa.gov
Christa.D.Peters-Lidard@nasa.gov
reichle@gmao.gsfc.nasa.gov
skumar@pop900.gsfc.nasa.gov
jesse@hsb.gsfc.nasa.gov
rkelly@glacier.gsfc.nasa.gov
reichle@gmao.gsfc.nasa.gov
Integration of Energy and Water Cycle Research Products in a Global Land Surface Modeling and Assimilation System
S009Duane Waliser, JPL Ph: 818 393-4094Huug Van den Dool CPC, Hua-lu Pan NOAA, Siegfried Schubert NASA/GSFCAdam Schlosser Ph: 617 253-3983 casch@MIT.EDU
duane.waliser@jpl.nasa.gov
huug.vandendool@noaa.gov
hualu.pan@noaa.gov
siegfried.d.schubert@nasa.gov
Predictability and Model Verification of the Water and Energy Cycles: Linking Local, Regional and Global Scales
S018Dennis Lettenmaier, U.Washington Ph: 206-543-253Dennis Lettenmaier UW, Eric Wood Princeton Univ, Pavel Groisman UCARPaul Houser Ph: 301 931-7280 houser@iges.org
dennisl@u.washington.edu
efwood@princeton.edu
Pasha.Groisman@noaa.gov
Use of International Polar Year Data to Improve Attribution of Long-Term Hydrologic Changes in Artic Eurasian Land Areas
S038Sally McFarlane, PNNL Ph: 509 375-6402Evgueni Kassianov, Jennifer Comstock, PNNLBob Schiffer Ph: 410 455-8810 schiffer@umbc.edu
Sally.McFarlane@pnl.gov
Evgueni.Kassianov@pnl.gov
jennifer.comstock@pnl.gov
Long-Term Regional Aerosol and Cloud Vertical Distributions Over the ARM Sites
S040Yongxiang Hu, LaRC Ph: 757 864-9824 Bruce Wielicki LaRCBill Rossow Ph:212-650-5389 wbrossow@ccny.cuny.edu
yongxiang.hu-1@nasa.gov
b.a.wielicki@larc.nasa.gov
New Approaches to Climate Prediction Uncertainty and to Determination of Climate Observation System Requirements
S043Xiquan Dong, U. N. DakotaRCBob Schiffer Ph: 410 455-8810 schiffer@umbc.edu
dong@aero.und.edu
P.Minnis@nasa.gov
adelgenio@giss.nasa.gov
A Study of Arctic Radiation Budget using CERES/MODIS Satellite and ARM NSA Surface Observations and NASA GISS Model


Site last updated: Oct 24, 2013
NASA Energy and Water cycle Study


Site Developed and Maintained by CISC, GMU

Copyright@2010, NASA Energy and Water Cycle Study. All rights reserved. Terms of Use Privacy Policy